Challenge update – 2 weeks in.

I spent the last week in paradise.  Seriously a week in an amazing house on the beach with my mom, my brother and his family and my little family.  It was GREAT and as I was tallying up my Super Summer Challenge points while I was there, I learned just how good vacations are for my mind.  My mind points for this week were at least 50% higher than last week. (If you have no clue what I’m talking about, I highly suggest you go check out Back To Her Roots and read up about the awesome challenge she created!)

The view from our vacation bedroom

The view from our vacation bedroom

Now, the body part of the equation?  That didn’t go quite as well.  I didn’t eat absolutely horribly, but i didn’t track one bite and I really didn’t think much about what I was putting in my mouth at all.  Aside from a few planks, a stretching session, playing around in the pool and a couple of strolls along the beach, there was little activity.  I’m still on track to be able to meet my goals for the summer. But I REALLY need to pick it up a notch to get the results I want.

Another revelation from vacation is just how big I’ve actually gotten.  When I see myself in the mirror, I know I’m woefully out of shape and need to do some serious work.  But seeing a picture of myself REALLY shows just how bad things have gotten.  I took most of the pics, so I’m not in many.  But as I was browsing through the photos my husband took today there were a few of me wading in the ocean with my little girl.  And wow, it was eye-opening for me.  I’m not “just a little chubby” as  I’d like to imagine.  I’ve well beyond that point.

With that in mind, I’m ready to jump back into things this week.  I went to a couple of  classes at the Y the week before vacation and really enjoyed them. (One was a Zumba class, the other a Hip Hop class.)  I definitely plan on going back at least twice this week.  And beginning no later than next weekend I will start the couch to 5k program as well.

Tomorrow will begin with a trip to the grocery so that I can have everything I need to eat well this week.  I made a small list of goals for the week,  (I get 25 mind points for that!) I created a menu of lunches and dinners for the week as well.  Hopefully this little time spent planning and prepping will spell success for the rest of the week for me.

How’s your summer starting off?

 

Tell me what you think!

