A Good Day

I finally feel like maybe I’m starting to get a bit of motivation back.  I have no idea why, but who cares, I’ll take it!

Friday was the last day of school for the kids around here.  And summer break definitely feels like it has started, even if mother nature hasn’t got the memo yet.  I really want to just do more with the kids this summer and I started that this weekend.

Today was a pretty day, overcast and a little cool, but not so much that we needed jackets.  Sky was outside playing with the neighbor girls when she came in and asked me if I would take them to the park.  I’m ashamed to say, that normally, I would just say no without even really thinking about it.  But, in an effort to “do more”, I thought about it for a moment, realized the weather was nice and I really didn’t have any plans and said yes

A walk to the park

The girls were SO excited.  Turns out hubby and my 15-year-old stepson were up for coming along also.  YAY!  I gave the girls the option of walking to the park or driving to the park.  If we drove we could bring their bikes along in the back of our van.  I don’t have a bike of my own and wasn’t feeling comfortable trying to keep up with 3 girls ages 5,7, and 9 on bikes riding to the park.  They chose to walk, and I was happy with that option.  I decided to turn on my CardioTrainer app on my phone so we could see how far our walk was.  The girls were great and only the youngest pulled the “are we there yet?” questioning a couple of times. lol  Turns out the park is almost exactly one mile from our house.  We definitely weren’t power walking.  We chit chatted, looked at broken bird’s eggs, pine cones, and leaves along the way.  It ended up taking us about 20 minutes to get there.  It wasn’t a hard-core workout, but it was a heck of a lot better than sitting on the couch.

In fact, I felt pretty good about getting up and being active, so much so that once I got home I got on my pinterest account and looked through the pins on my “Fitness” board and tried out two new workouts.  The first was an arm workout.  I really liked this workout.  It was challenging for me, but not so hard that I couldn’t keep correct form.  As I hopefully get stronger, I can easily increase my weights and still use this workout.

<iframe width=”620″ height=”350″ frameborder=”0″ src=”http://www.popsugar.com/psvn/embed?video=22959099&width=620&height=350″&gt;

The second one I tried was an ab workout.  Ya, this one wasn’t so great for me.  My core is WEAK.  I just flat-out could NOT do some of the moves *ahem side planks ahem*.  I just did what I could and called it a day.

Overall a good day.

Tell me what you think!

