challenge time!

The last few weeks I’ve been a sloth pretty much.  Zero exercise, poor food choices, and lots of soda.  Guess what that means?  I weigh WAY too much.  I know I need to get back on track, but I’ve had troubles with motivation.  Well, i ALWAYS have trouble with motivation, but it’s been especially bad.

If you read my last 14 by 40 update then you may have noticed that I have registered for a 5k in September.  Well, I didn’t just register for it, I’ve also annoyingly harassed fellow high school alumni to run or walk the race too.  The 5k is in my hometown and in the last year or so I’ve noticed that there are quite a few runners among my Facebook friends that are from my high school.  I thought it would be fun to get a big group of us to do the race together.  I’ve had lots of interested parties, not many have registered yet, but there is still plenty of time for that.   What I’m trying to get at, is now I have a goal race that I’d really like to be in better shape for.  Think high school reunion in running clothes.  Yikes!  I’m hoping that will be a motivator to get me eating better, and start tackling the couch to 5k program yet again.

Something else I’m taking part in to help me reach my goals is this awesome Super Summer Challenge that Cassie from back to her roots has created.  I think it’s a great match for me.  I’m not going to explain it in depth, because she already has on her blog, but it’s basically a way to work in all sorts of healthy choices into your summer.  Here’s why I like this challenge.

  1. It’s totally customizable.  Cassie has her tasks listed, but they are totally personal for her.  Her task list is a fantastic starting off point to create your own list.  I’ve deleted some of her tasks, added some of my own, and moved some things around to different point levels.
  2. The tasks aren’t just exercise and diet related.  There is a list for “body” points, but there is also a list for “mind” points as well.  I need that right now.  Yes, I definitely have work to do in the exercise and food realm, but I also have some work to do in the basic “taking-care-of-myself” category as well.
  3. It’s very flexible.  There isn’t a strict workout schedule or diet to follow.  I have a list of almost 100 tasks that I can choose to do whenever I want.  I think this may help me keep from getting that “well, I didn’t do my workout today, I’ve messed it up so f*&# it, I’m going to go eat an entire cheesecake now” attitude.
  4. Cassie made super cute printables.  I mean, who doesn’t love a cute graphic thermometer  to color in as you reach your goals???

The official challenge begins June 1st, so if you’re interested there’s still time to download her awesome printables and customize your own list.  You can even sign up for peer accountability on her blog.  Cool right?  If you decide to join in on the fun, let me know so we can check in with one another!

Tell me what you think!

