Accountability doesn’t suck.

A week ago was the last time I posted.  And at that time I was three weeks into a non-exercise bender.   I’m happy to report that writing about it, putting it out there, and facing the fact that I’d be not only really peeved at myself, but also highly embarrassed if I didn’t get my butt back in gear, has got me back on track.

I had three scheduled runs for last week, and I did all three.  I can tell you one thing for sure.  THREE WEEKS WITHOUT RUNNING DOES MAKE YOU BACKSLIDE.  Oh. Em. Gee.  I went out first on Tuesday night on my own just in my neighborhood.  I ran the first 10 minutes, then did a lot of back and forth between running and walking.  Well, the next morning, I WAS SORE.  Like ridiculously sore for having run a slow 3 miles.  My quads were burning all day.

I had already arranged to run with an acquaintance from the LexRunLadies that I had never run with.  I felt a bit self-conscious but she was very sweet.  It wasn’t a pretty outing for me at all, but I got my 3 miles in, then she continued on for another mile and half to get the 4.5 miles that she had on her schedule in.  If you’re keeping score at home that means I was 2/2 for my scheduled runs.  Go me!

The Legacy Trail.  Site of my not so fun 5 miles.

The Legacy Trail. Site of my not so fun 5 miles.

IMAG0239My last run for the week was my “long run” of 5 miles.  (That is long for me, but in the world of running, it’s hardly a long run.)  I didn’t want to do it.  I kept putting it off.  But I finally committed to meeting a group at 4pm on Sunday.  They are toward the end of a couch to 5k program so we didn’t run together.  But saying I’d meet them there got me in my running gear and out the door, which is what I needed.  I did it, it sucked, I had a variety of issues at different points in the run.  It may have been my slowest pace to date.  but I got it done.  And you know what? I’m proud of it.  I need to do that more often, tell myself, “Self, it really sucks that you don’t want to do your run today, but tough crap.  Go get your running shoes on and run now.”

I’ve got both of my weekday runs planned for this week.  (Tuesday morning, 7am, and Thursday evening 5:30pm.)  I still need to schedule my weekend 5miler.  I’m shooting for Saturday morning as of right now.

And I REALLY need to get some hill training in. The run the Bluegrass course is HILLY.  Like not joking around or exaggerating, it’s crazy hilly.

So, how did your week go?  Did you do what you set out to do?

Tell me what you think!

