10 days.

It’s been 10 days since I posted to schleppin.  (okay, does that sentence totally make you start singing this song?)

Well, even though I’ve been slacking about updating here on the schlepp, I’ve actually been doing a decent job of not being a total slack with my running schedule.

What I’ve been up to the last 10 days.

Calf Cramps!! I cut it short because of them.

Calf Cramps!! I cut it short because of them.

This was an early morning run on the treadmill at the Y.  A fast one for me actually.

This was an early morning run on the treadmill at the Y. A fast one for me actually.

Met with a group of LexRunLadies and ran a new "trail" I ran the first mile without walking.  Big deal in my book.

Met with a group of LexRunLadies and ran a new “trail” I ran the first mile without walking. Big deal in my book.

OMG AWFUL run on the treadmill, calf cramps and wanted to stop a million times.  I'm proud of the fact that I just stuck with it.

OMG AWFUL run on the treadmill, calf cramps and wanted to stop a million times. I’m proud of the fact that I just stuck with it.

What I’ve learned:

1) There is no “good” time for me to run on workdays.  I am not a morning person so early mornings are just hard for me to get out of bed. But, I’m just tired by the time I get home from work and usually any after work runs just suck.  I need to just start being a grown-up, biting the bullet, and going to bed earlier the night before I need to run, because overall, I just do better when I run in the morning.

2) Anytime I can make a running date, I should.  I’m just much less likely to flake out if I’m meeting a group or person to go for a run, even if we wont’ actually be running at the same pace together, (because let’s face it, I have yet to meet anyone as slow as me.) just knowing someone is expecting me to show up before we start on our runs will get me there 95% of the time.

3) I SUCK at pushing myself.  I don’t like feeling on the edge.  I CAN run further and faster than I have been.  Not by a lot, but I could make small gains if I just learn to push myself harder.

What else I’ve been up to:

Saturday after my run I did some strength training.  Pushups, Triceps kick backs, chest flies, shoulder presses, and bench presses.  I did 3 sets of 12 reps of each.  I just did it at home with the dumbbells I have.  But i was sore for two days after, so that weight must have been enough.

last night I did a bit more strength training.  3, 30 second supermans as well as 3 sets of 12 Dumbbell rows and Bicep curls on each arm.  Again, just used 10 pound dumbbells.  I actually struggled to finish all the sets last night, but I’m not sore at all today.  boo!

Today I was supposed to meet a friend at the Y for a treadmill run and a little strength training before work.  Instead I did way too many reps from my bed to the bathroom in the early morning hours and the early part of the day today.  So I’ve not run yet.  I’m feeling quite a bit better now, but i dunno if I’m brave enough to try to run today or not.  If not I’ll have to fit it in either Friday morning before work or Saturday after a full day of meetings.   bleh!

Just need to get 2 more runs in this week and I will have completed 4 weeks of my training plan with NO missed runs!

Tell me what you think!

