Resolution Run

I’m a couple of days late on this one.  C’est la vie!

I was registered to run a 5 mile “Resolution Run” with two friends on new year’s day.   I figured it would be a great way to start off the new year.

It sucked.   I really didn’t want to do it, but I couldn’t come up with a decent excuse, so I went.

My friends met at my place at 1 so we could hopefully get there by 1:30 for a group photo with the LexRunLadies.  We walked in right as they were gathering for the photo.  We ran over and joined them, the pic was taken, then I started feeling super nervous.   Like sick to my stomach nervous.

Of course by this time I needed to pee. So I waited in line for the women’s restroom.  Finally got out of there, got my Garmin ready to go, put my phone in my arm band, got my earbuds situated and waited a few more minutes to head out in the cold.

It was in the upper 30s, which I find to be a comfortable temperature for running.  However, it’s pretty cold for standing around waiting to start a race. Luckily we didn’t have to wait long at all.  I have to say, I’m amazed at the Uber Runners that start at the front of the pack.  Most of them were wearing shorts and a very lightweight shirt, brrrr!  I had cold weather Under Armor running tights on bottom and 3 layers on top.  (That proved to be at least one layer too much!).

The race was started, the Uber Runners ™ took off at the speed of light, and about 40 seconds later I crossed the start line.  It was pretty much a sucky experience from the first few steps.  Ever have one of those runs where you just feel HEAVY? Like leaden legs?  That’s pretty much how I felt the whole time.  Once again, I walked more than I ran during this race.

Things I learned from this race:

  • The base layer I wore SUCKS.  It kept creeping up my torso.  At first I tried to keep pulling it down, but it was a lost cause, by the first half mile my base layer shirt and the lighter weight shirt I had on over it were pretty much bunched up under my armpits.  So I had like a ring around my ribcage and was basically only wearing my jacket on my lower ribs and stomach. That’s how I ran for 4.5 miles.   SUPER comfy, trust me.
  • I should ALWAYS wear less than I think I need.  OMG, I got so freaking hot!  I was super thankful for a clothing toss box at the water station.  I ditched my ear warmer at the first chance (around 1.5 miles maybe?).  If I could have somehow removed that creeper of a base layer without flashing everyone I would have too.
  • Seeing a smiling familiar face cheering you on means a WHOLE lot when you’re struggling. (Thanks KATIE!!!)
  • A thumbs up, encouraging smile, or kind words from another runner that sees you are having a hard time goes a long way in boosting your spirits.
  • Nothing beats a good song popping up on your playlist when all you really want is to get to the freaking finish line already!

Funny and pathetic things that happened at this race:

  • The winner was SO fast (he finished in 24:xx) that I felt like I was barely started when he passed me heading the opposite way just a bit over a mile from the finish!  He also then passed me again later several times as he was cooling down, or just getting more miles, or wasting time or whatever it was he was doing while I trudged along trying to get to that elusive finish line.
  • The winners had already been awarded by the time I finished the race.  I’m used to finishing toward the back of the pack, but that was a first for me.

The most important bit I got from this race:

  • No matter how much I don’t want to run, or how horrible the race is, I’m always glad when it’s all said and done that I got out there and did it.

So what’s up for the rest of the week? I have 2 two mile runs on the schedule for the rest of the week.  I’ll be doing one of them tomorrow morning on the treadmill here at home and the other Saturday morning with a group.

Tell me what you think!

