14 by 40 (1 month down)

It’s been just a little over a month since I turned 39 years old.  Let’s take a look at what progress (if any) I’ve made toward my 14 by 40 goals list.

  1. Train well and finish the Rock n Roll Lex Half Marathon. (I’m already registered and have sort of started training.)  Well, this has changed.  There was a change in the race and I’ve made the decision to step back from the half marathon and instead run the 7 mile option.  I’m actually really happy with this decision and I’ve even set up a training plan with a running coach.
  2. Take a family trip to ________.  I’m thinking just a weekend or long weekend trip.  Not a full on vacation.  Chicago or DC come to mind, Chicago is much closer and would be easiest.  We’ll see. No Progress on this one just yet.
  3. Run in at least three 5k races. I’m running a 5 miler today which I’ll count toward this, I’m considering another 5k in February as well.
  4. Take a cooking class. No progress yet.
  5. Take a trip with Sam (my awesome hubby.)  I really don’t care where, but a few days of quality time with no chores or parenting duties would be like heaven. I don’t have anything scheduled yet, but I think I know where we will go, not telling yet though 😉
  6. Get home to visit each of my parents at least 3 times. I’ve seen them each once so far.
  7. Take part in some sort of artistic class or event. No progress yet.
  8. Host a dinner party or two. No progress yet, need to get on this!
  9. Work on my pathetic push ups.  Train to be able to do 10 good push ups. I kind of half-assed this in December, but definitely not there yet.
  10. Spend a silly amount of money on a pair of shoes I love.  (I’ve NEVER done this, I’m usually way too practical.) Not yet.
  11. Go to at least one concert. Not yet.
  12. Attend at least one play or musical. I’ve attended one with Skylar, and have tickets for a few more.
  13. REALLY for real work on getting a 5k time that doesn’t put me in danger of finishing last. This will start in April, after my 7 miler.
  14. Plan at least 6 fun mommy/daughter dates with my little SkyBaby. 1 down, at least 5 more to go 🙂

I have to say, i’m pretty happy with my progress so far.  When I decided to do an update on this I was thinking I hadn’t done anything at all yet, but I’ve actually got a bit of progress on there.

What I’d like to work on in the next month to make progress on this list:

  • Plan a dinner party for sometime in the next few months.
  • Plan and make reservations for a trip with Sam.
  • Start working on push ups
  • Have at least one mommy/daughter date with Sky.
  • Work hard at keeping with my 7 miler training program.

so, what’s up with you?

 

2 thoughts on “14 by 40 (1 month down)

  1. Hi! I just started my 13x13in13 plan – train to run a 13 mile half marathon in 13 weeks in 2013. I’m planning to do the RunTheBluegrass half. I debated whether to do the 7 or the 13 and decided to go all out. I just started blogging about it at thirteenthirteenthirteen.wordpress.com. Maybe I’ll see you there!

  2. Pingback: Accountability Sucks « schleppin

Tell me what you think!

