December Dozen Day 13 – AKA My Arms are Jello

Thursday, Dec 13

Day 13: Today was a scheduled day off work for me. (I LOVE these days!) It started bright and early with hubby and I working at our daughter’s school selling yo-yos of all things. Weird eh? They went along with this program they had on Tuesday. It was a bit crazy and a TON of kids bought yo-yos. school_assembly_with_yo-yo
I REALLY wanted to run today, I had a partner I could go with, the weather was PERFECT for running. (Sunny and 37deg) but I knew there was just no way this chest cold was going to allow it. And I’ll be honest, my hamstrings and butt are SORE from yesterday’s leg workout. So I’m not sure how a run would have gone even if I’d been able to.
Between grocery trips, dinner, reading with my daughter, taking care of some “cookie mom” duties with my daughter’s brownie troop, and just having some lazy time, I didn’t budget my time as well as I could have today. The walk I planned on taking today turned into a VERY short walk (less than a half mile! whoops!)I guess something is better than nothing though.

I did the PUSH portion of my strength training routine I talked about yesterday. I have some tweaking to do to get the most out of the workout. Some changes I had to make are because I’m really weak. I had to modify the push ups. I knew I’d have to. I can MAYBE get two “real” push ups at a time, that’s it. I had read somewhere once about using your stairs as a way to work your way into push ups. Basically you stand firmly at the base of the steps, not on a stair but the floor beneath, then place your hands 4 or 5 steps up and do your push ups at that incline. Once you can do 12 solid push ups with good form, the next time you move down a step. You continue working your way down the steps until you are doing “real” push ups on the floor. I will be majorly proud of myself when I get to that point. But I’ve got a long way to go for sure!
chairdip
The next exercise was chair dips. Uh, Ya, apparently I’ve never tried these before. It’s HARD, again, I just wasn’t strong enough to push my full body weight up more than a few times. I replaced them with triceps kickbacks. The rest of the exercises went okay. I wish i had a bench and some heavier weights though. I had to use 10 pound weights for the chest press, which is really light.

I didn’t eat great today, but wasn’t horrible either. My water consumption sucked, I’m really so much better about drinking water when I’m at work. Need to work on that!

Unless I get on the treadmill in the late evening, I doubt i’ll get cardio in tomorrow. Friday’s are hard for me. But I have a 5 mile run/walk planned for first thing Saturday morning. I’ll plan on doing core tomorrow night and the Pull exercises on Saturday.

Tell me what you think!