what’s up doc?

My annual physical exam was Thursday.

I was DREADING it. I don’t mind going to the doctor’s office. I quite like my doctor, and I don’t really even mind needles. What I didn’t want to face was the scale.
weight-scale
In the 12 months since my last physical exam I have lost and then regained about 30 pounds. Admitting that makes me really uncomfortable. I mean, it’s pretty obvious to people that know me that I’ve lost and gained a decent amount of weight over the last year, but for me to fully admit it and even give a number is pretty difficult.
Luckily, my doctor didn’t harass me about my weight. He knows that I’m working on it, and he left it at that. Once we got past the uncomfortable weight stuff, I was able to discuss some other issues with him.

Specifically we talked about my frustration with my running. The fact that though I’ve been running pretty regularly for about a year, I still get short of breath within minutes of starting to run, even when I run very slowly. (For you sticklers out there, I didn’t really run much at all for about two months over the summer, but other than that I’ve run/walk/exercised pretty regularly the other 10 months of the year.) At first I blamed my gasping and shortness of breath on me being really out of shape, because well, I was crazy out of shape. But slowly, over time, I started to wonder if there was something else going on. Then within about a two week time period 3 different people brought up the suggestion that perhaps I had exercise induced asthma (also called exercise induced bronchospasm). The more I learned about it, the more I felt it was a possibility that’s what I was experiencing.

So, back to the doc’s office, before I was even finished telling him about my breathing issues he was nodding his head. In that office they don’t have the equipment to do testing for a definitive diagnosis, but based on what I told him and my answers to other questions he asked me, he felt like trying out an inhaler was the way to go.

I picked up the inhaler and air chamber yesterday. I haven’t had a chance to use it yet, but definitely will on my next run. My doctor explained the air chamber is just a device to help ensure that I get the proper dosage into my lungs. It probably sounds weird, but I’m kind of excited to try it out. If EIA truly is my issue, and the inhaler helps, I feel like I could make huge improvements with my running. Wish me luck!

Anyone else deal with EIA/EIB? Do you use an inhaler? How helpful has it been? Is it a pain in the butt to use?

2 thoughts on “what’s up doc?

  1. Pingback: Breathing Easier « schleppin

  2. I could never understand how people could exercise in the cold. Anytime I tried it, my lungs would burn and I’d be coughing for days. Then I read about EIA and asked my wife, who’s a PA about it. She got me an inhaler and it has made all the difference in the world! I forgot to use it Saturday on an easy 3 mi run at about 28 degrees, and I could only go about 2 miles. I probably wouldn’t even be thinking about a half marathon if I hadn’t started on albuterol.

Tell me what you think!

