Girls on the Run

Image

Skybaby and I volunteered at the local Girls on the Run 5k. Girls on the Run is an awesome organization. Never heard of it? You should totally check it out. We worked the water station with 5 other volunteers.

water station at Girls on the Run

water station at Girls on the Run

The temps were in the upper 40’s/low 50’s, so great running weather. There were SO many girls there running, some smiling, some looking like they may puke soon. I really enjoyed volunteering, and working the water station was great, but I wish I could have seen some of those girls crossing the finish line.

I definitely need to volunteer to help out at more races though, it was a great time!

In other news, lookie what came in the mail today!! Amazon had an awesome cyber Monday deal on Garmins. I got the Forerunner 410 for $159. That’s like uber cheap. I’m geeking out and reading through the manual. I’ll have it all charged up and ready to go for my long run tomorrow.
wpid-IMAG0132.jpg

Today is also December 1, which means it’s the first day of my December dozen! I’ll try to give an update every couple of days on how I’m doing with sticking to my plan.

Here’s my plan for the week:
Sunday: run 7.5 miles, biceps,triceps and plank
Monday: sit ups, plank
Tuesday: run 30 minutes. I’ve got a meeting Tuesday evening, so yay I get to run before work. (That’s sarcasm, I do NOT like to get up early.)
Wednesday: squats, plank
Thursday: Yet another early morning run. boo! (30 minutes), plank, push ups
Friday: walk, plank
Saturday is still up in the air. I’ve got 3 miles on the schedule for this weekend. I may even go ahead and register for the Reindeer Ramble 5k this weekend… We’ll see.

So what’s your plan for the week? Have you gotten any new geektastic gadgets?

Tell me what you think!