What a (tiny) difference a year makes!

It was one year ago that I “ran” my first 5k.  Notice the quotes there, they would be air quotes if we were talking face to face right now.  I had just started “running” a few weeks before the 5k, two friends and I were working through the couch to 5k program together.  We finished the race and that was the main goal.  But man, i STRUGGLED.  I walked lots and seriously thought I may puke at the finish line.  My time was 46:56.  Almost 47 minutes to run/walk 3.1 miles.  That’s S-L-O-W.

Here I am a year later, and Saturday morning I ran the Turkey Strut 5k again.  The same race I ran last year as my first.  I’ve only done two 5ks, 2 mud runs, and a half marathon since that first race.  I’ve “ran” fairly regularly over the last year.  Well, let’s be honest, I barely ran at all the whole summer.  But I’ve been back on track for a few months now.  Here’s the thing, I’ve read these stories about people that start running and within a year are running marathons and sub 30 minute 5ks.  Ya, I started running a year ago and Friday night before going to bed, I was totally stressing about whether I’d finish dead last in the 5k today.  (I didn’t, but there weren’t too many people behind me.)

I don’t  know my official time yet, but I think i beat my prior time by about 3 minutes.  I forgot to stop my Garmin at the finish, so I need to wait on the results to be posted to get my “official” time.

I’m not really sure how i feel about Saturday’s race.  I did better than last year, but not too much better.  I really feel like by this time I should be able to run a 5k without walking.  But I can BARELY run one mile without walking.  I’m trying to cling to the fact that I did indeed improve, even though it was by such a tiny margin.  But it’s hard not to get discouraged.  At one point I was running alongside another woman.  She asked me if it was also my first 5k…It was a bit embarrassing to admit that I had been running for over a year.  And in the end, she beat me.  lol.  At least I can have a sense of humor about it.
On the upside, the race was alot of fun.  It’s a really small one, so folks that may not have many chances to place at larger races have a better shot at this one.  A good friend and her husband both placed third in their age groups and one of my daughter’s best friends (a seven year old) placed first in the 13 and under age group.  She was BEAMING when she got that little turkey trophy.

2 thoughts on “What a (tiny) difference a year makes!

  1. Keep at it and don’t get discouraged, and try not to compare yourself to others – the only comparison that’s important is between you now and you in the past. A point to remember: even if it was her first 5k it doesn’t mean she hadn’t been running, or doing other forms of exercise even, perhaps for even longer than you. Some people take a long time to build the confidence to put themselves out in public like that.

    • Thanks for the encouragement! I definitely try not to compare. Honestly it doesn’t bother me at all that I’m so slow, it’s the snail’s pace of improvement that gets me down from time to time.

Tell me what you think!

